---
title: Locking a Data Object
description: "*This article that users have access to the Developer Center and are familiar with the basics of [Data Objects](https://learn.assette.com/docs/data-block-basics/).* Assette uses an automatic locking system to prevent multiple users from editing the same Data Object or Data Block at the…"
url: "https://learn.assette.com/docs/locking-a-data-object/"
updated: "2025-04-01"
category: Developers / Developer Tools / Data Object Editor
---

# Locking a Data Object

*This article that users have access to the Developer Center and are familiar with the basics of [Data Objects](https://learn.assette.com/docs/data-block-basics/).*

Assette uses an automatic locking system to prevent multiple users from editing the same Data Object or Data Block at the same time. This ensures consistency and avoids overwriting changes.

## Automatic Locking

When a user clicks to open a Data Object the system **automatically locks** it. This lock prevents other users from editing the same item until it is released (either by saving, publishing, or closing the session).

![Locking a Data Object 1](https://learn.assette.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/04/image.png)

## Force Unlocking a Data Object

If the original user goes idle without releasing the object or block, other users will not be able to edit it. In such cases, a **Force Unlock** option is available to developers. To force unlock, follow the guide here: [Unlocking a Data Object](https://learn.assette.com/docs/unlocking-a-data-object/)

![Locking a Data Object 2](https://learn.assette.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/image-1024x239.png)

## Best Practices

- Always **save and publish** your work before stepping away.
- Use **Force Unlock** cautiously—communicate with teammates to avoid unintentional data loss.
- If prompted, use **Save As** to retain unsaved changes.
